Gurney Eagle Nose American Driver Ranking Logo Waving American Flag

Deep Throttle Button

Auto Racing History Button
Deep Throttle
American Driver
Prospects Ranking
For Open Wheel Road Racing
November 9, 2011

The final 2011 ranking features the top 15 American driver prospects for open wheel road racing. The next ranking will appear on May 30, 2012.

  Driver Last Month
1 Alexander Rossi (F-Renault 3.5)
A fourth and a seventh in Catalunya moved him up to third in the final standings. Will make his GP2 debut at Abu Dhabi.
2 Josef Newgarden (Indy Lights)
Clinched the Indy Lights championship with a second at Kentucky, then finished ninth at Las Vegas.
3 Connor De Phillippi (Star Mazda)
Got six top two finishes in 11 races with four wins and two poles for second in the championship.
4 Conor Daly (Indy Lights, GP3)
Won an Indy Lights race in five appearances; got a fifth and two sixths in GP2.
5 Gabby Chaves (GP3)
A fourth and a fifth were his best finishes in the ultra-tough GP2 series.
6 Nick Andries (Star Mazda)
Finished third in the championship with seven podiums in 11 races plus one pole, but no wins.
7 Spencer Pigot (USF2000)
Competed in the Duratec class of the Formula Ford Festival where he nabbed a 16th after starting last, and seventh in the semifinals.
8 Sage Karam (Star Mazda)
Two wins, a second, third, and two poles helped him get fifth in the championship.
9 Kyle Connery (F2000)
Wrapped the season up with two strong victories after starting second in each race at Watkins Glen to move up to third in the championship with six victories in 11 races.
10 Zach Veach (USF2000)
Scored one win, three poles, two seconds, and two thirds to wind up fourth in the championship.
11 Chris Livengood (F2000)
Finished the season with a fourth and a seventh at Watkins Glen to maintain second in the championship with two wins on the season.
12 Neil Alberico (MSA Formula Ford)
Took third in the Formula Ford Festival after taking wins from pole position in the semi and heat races.
13 Trent Hindman (Skip Barber)
Got a second at Lime Rock for second in the standings then competed in the Formula Ford Festival (ninth after starting 22nd) and the Walter Hayes Trophy (sixth in final and fourth in semi).
14 Scott Anderson (Skip Barber)
A fourth and a first at Lime Rock clinched him the championship with six total wins.
15 Connor Ford (Pacific F2000)
Two seconds at Las Vegas after starting from the pole in each race gave him the championship with six wins in 10 races.
Dropped out: Brandon Newey.

Copyright © 2011 by Russell Jaslow and Deep Throttle. All Rights Reserved. Any reprint of this ranking must be done in its entirety and mention Deep Throttle as the source. Any online reprint of this poll must provide a link to the Deep Throttle home page. Otherwise, no reuse permission is granted.

Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2008-2018 by All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying American Driver Ranking are proprietary marks of and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy