Gurney Eagle Nose American Driver Ranking Logo Waving American Flag

Deep Throttle Button

Auto Racing History Button
Deep Throttle
American Driver
Prospects Ranking
For Open Wheel Road Racing
September 30, 2009

The September ranking features the top 15 American driver prospects for open wheel road racing. The next ranking will appear October 28, 2009.

  Driver Last Month
1 J.R. Hildebrand (Indy Lights)
Clinched the championship with a fifth place finish at Chicagoland with one race remaining.
2 Jonathan Summerton (Atlantic)
Moved up to second in points in an extremely tight three-way battle thanks to victories from poles at Mosport and Road Atlanta.
3 John Edwards (Atlantic)
Slipped to third in the standings despite a second at Mosport and a third a Road Atlanta.
4 Josef Newgarden (Europe)
The European dream continues, winning three more times (a fourth win was lost after failing tech) in five British FF races along with two poles. Remains second in points.
5 Gabby Chaves (FBMW)
The dual citizen won the title with two second place finishes at Mosport becoming the first driver to finish on the podium in every FBMW race.
6 Conor Daly (Star Mazda)
Despite spinning out of the lead at Mosport, Daly came in second and then took another second at Road Atlanta, both from front row starting spots.
7 Joel Miller (Star Mazda)
Faltered with a 12th at Mosport but came back to finish fourth at Road Atlanta.
8 Chris Miller (F2000)
After winning the F2000 Championship Series, Miller tried his hand at Star Mazda. However, problems prevented him from making the start.
9 Connor De Phillippi (Skip Barber National)
A sixth and a second at Road Atlanta maintained his points lead. However, De Phillippi's biggest prize of the month was being selected a Team USA Scholarship winner.
10 Robert Podlesni (Pacific F2000)
A win and a runner up at Laguna Seca gave Podlesni the championship.
11 Matthew Inge (F2000)
The season is over for Inge who wound up with two wins, three seconds, and two thirds in 12 races for second place.
12 Alexander Rossi (Europe)
Got hot just in the nick of time winning two of the last six Formula Masters races to win the Rookie of the Year title, finishing fourth overall.
13 Max Hyatt (Pacific F2000)
A first and a second at Laguna Seca was good enough to maintain second place in the final standings.
14 Benjamin Searcy (F2000)
Season is complete with three wins and five top five finishes in 10 races for fourth in points.
15 Court Vernon (Skip Barber National)
Got a second at Road Atlanta but then ran into problems and wound up 15th in the second race keeping him second in points with one weekend to go.
Dropped out: None

Copyright © 2009 by Russell Jaslow and Deep Throttle. All Rights Reserved. Any reprint of this ranking must be done in its entirety and mention Deep Throttle as the source. Any online reprint of this poll must provide a link to the Deep Throttle home page. Otherwise, no reuse permission is granted.

Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2008-2018 by All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying American Driver Ranking are proprietary marks of and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy