Gurney Eagle Nose American Driver Ranking Logo Waving American Flag

Deep Throttle Button

Auto Racing History Button
Deep Throttle
American Driver
Prospects Ranking
For Open Wheel Road Racing
May 28, 2014

The May ranking features the top 15 American driver prospects for open wheel road racing. The next ranking will appear on July 30, 2014.

  Driver Last Year
1 Gabby Chaves (Indy Lights)
The 2013 Indy Lights runner-up is off to a hot start with three wins, including Long Beach and Indy, two poles and a second to grab the early points lead.
2t Conor Daly (GP2)
Moving up from GP3 where he won a race, it's been tough going in GP2 with a best finish of 10th in the Monaco sprint race.
2t Alexander Rossi (GP2)
Another year in GP2 coming off an Abu Dhabi victory has not gone as well so far, with a best of 11th in the Monaco sprint race.
4 Spencer Pigot (Pro Mazda)
Returning to Pro Mazda after a fourth place finish, Pigot has been red hot. He won the Winterfest with two wins, two seconds and four poles in four races. He won the first four races in the 2014 season along with five poles in seven races to lead the points.
5 Matthew Brabham (Indy Lights)
After dominating Pro Mazda last year with 13 out of 16 wins and all but one podium finish, Brabham has only managed one Indy Lights victory along with one pole and three podiums in the first seven races.
6 RC Enerson (USF2000)
After a nondescript 2013 USF2000 campaign, Enerson has been on fire. He took the Winterfest title with two wins, a second, a third and three poles in six races. For the 2014 season, he has three wins, a second and a pole in seven races to take the points lead.
7 Zach Veach (Indy Lights)
A winless 2013 year in Indy Lights has Veach back in the series. This time, he already has two wins, a second, two thirds and two poles in seven races for second in the standings.
8 Adrian Starrantino (USF2000)
The runner-up in the 2013 F1600 Formula F Championship, he has moved up to USF2000 where he has a win and a pole for sixth in the standings.
9 Kyle Kaiser (Pro Mazda)
Winless in the first seven races, Kaiser returns to Pro Mazda where he sits third in points thanks to consistency -- two seconds, a third and two fifths.
10 Aaron Telitz (USF2000)
After a third place campaign in the F1600 Formula F Championship, Telitz started out slow in USF2000. However, the last four races include a win at IRP, a second, and a third to place him fifth in the standings.
11 Skylar Robinson (F2000)
He started the year out strong winning the first race followed by a pair of seconds. However, a DNF in his last race dropped him to second in the points.
12 Neil Alberico (Pro Mazda)
He finished second last year in USF2000. Moving up to Pro Mazda has garnered him two podiums so far for fourth in the standings.
13 Jack Eidson (USF2000)
The 2013 F1600 Formula F Championship winner, Eidson is third in the USF2000 series thanks to two seconds and a third.
14 Garth Rickards (F1600)
He is third in the standings thanks to consistency -- a second, two thirds, a fifth and two poles.
15 Ben Auriemma (Skip Barber)
After a strong 2013-14 Winter Series (third place with two victories), he has leaped into the points lead for the Summer series with a third followed by three straight victories all from the pole.
Dropped out: Sage Karam (IndyCar development driver), Shelby Blackstock (Pro Mazda), Colton Herta (USF2000), Kyle Connery (Pro Mazda), Santino Ferrucci (FIA F3 Euro after May), Joey Bickers (racing in Mazda MX-5 Cup), Scott Anderson (Indy Lights).

Copyright © 2014 by Russell Jaslow and Deep Throttle. All Rights Reserved. Any reprint of this ranking must be done in its entirety and mention Deep Throttle as the source. Any online reprint of this poll must provide a link to the Deep Throttle home page. Otherwise, no reuse permission is granted.

Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2008-2018 by All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying American Driver Ranking are proprietary marks of and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy