Old 16 Photo Logo 3
Click to subscribe
to racinghistory

The Fairmount Park Motor Races Book
Order this book today
About Us
Book Reviews

Deep Throttle Button


Left: The Locomobile Type 1906, "Old 16", driven by George Robertson on its way to winning the 1908 Vanderbilt Cup on Long Island.

Center: Action during the 1916 Vanderbilt Cup event at Santa Monica with William Bolden (#12) leading Omar Toft.

World Drivers and Constructors Champions
Year Driver Champion   Constructors Cup
1950  Guiseppe Farini (ITA)    Not Awarded
1951  Juan Manual Fangio (ARG)    Not Awarded
1952  Alberto Ascari (ITA)    Not Awarded
1953  Alberto Ascari (ITA)    Not Awarded
1954  Juan Manual Fangio (ARG)    Not Awarded
1955  Juan Manual Fangio (ARG)    Not Awarded
1956  Juan Manual Fangio (ARG)    Not Awarded
1957  Juan Manual Fangio (ARG)    Not Awarded
1958  Mike Hawthorn (GB)    Vanwell
1959  Jack Brabham (AUS)    Cooper-Climax
1960  Jack Brabham (AUS)    Cooper-Climax
1961  Phil Hill (USA)    Ferrari
1962  Graham Hill (GB)    BRM
1963  Jim Clark (GB)    Lotus-Climax
1964  John Surtees (GB)    Ferrari
1965  Jim Clark (GB)    Lotus Climax
1966  Jack Brabham (AUS)    Brabham-Repco
1967  Denny Hulme (NZ)    Brabham-Repco
1968  Graham Hill (GB)    Lotus-Ford
1969  Jackie Stewart (GB)    Matra-Ford
1970  Jochen Rindt (AUT)    Lotus-Ford
1971  Jackie Stewart (GB)    Tyrrell-Ford
1972  Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)    Lotus-Ford
1973  Jackie Stewart (GB)    Lotus-Ford
1974  Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)    McLaren-Ford
1975  Niki Lauda (AUT)    Ferrari
1976  James Hunt (GB)    Ferrari
1977  Niki Lauda (AUT)    Ferrari
1978  Mario Andretti (USA)    Lotus-Ford
1979  Jody Scheckter (SAF)    Ferrari
1980  Alan Jones (AUS)    Williams-Ford
1981  Nelson Piquet (BRA)    Williams-Ford
1982  Keke Rosberg (FIN)    Ferrari
1983  Nelson Piquet (BRA)    Ferrari
1984  Niki Lauda (AUT)    McLaren-Porsche
1985  Alain Prost (FRA)    McLaren-TAG
1986  Alain Prost (FRA)    Williams-Honda
1987  Nelson Piquet (BRA)    Williams-Honda
1988  Ayrton Senna (BRA)    McLaren-Honda
1989  Alain Prost (FRA)    McLaren-Honda
1990  Ayrton Senna (BRA)    McLaren-Honda
1991  Ayrton Senna (BRA)    McLaren-Honda
1992  Nigel Mansell (GB)    Williams-Renault
1993  Alain Prost (FRA)    Williams-Renault
1994  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Benetton-Renault
1995  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Benetton-Renault
1996  Damon Hill (GB)    Williams-Renault
1997  Jacques Villeneuve (CDN)    Williams-Renault
1998  Mika Hakkinen (FIN)    McLaren-Mercedes
1999  Mika Hakkinen (FIN)    Ferrari
2000  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Ferrari
2001  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Ferrari
2002  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Ferrari
2003  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Ferrari
2004  Michael Schumacher (GER)    Ferrari
2005  Fernando Alonso (ESP)    Renault
2006  Fernando Alonso (ESP)    Renault
2007  Kimi Räikkönen (FIN)    Ferrari
2008  Lewis Hamilton (GB)    Ferrari
2009  Jenson Button (GB)    Brawn-Mercedes
2010  Sebastian Vettel (GER)    Red Bull-Renault
2011  Sebastian Vettel (GER)    Red Bull-Renault
2012  Sebastian Vettel (GER)    Red Bull-Renault
2013  Sebastian Vettel (GER)    Red Bull-Renault
2014  Lewis Hamilton (GB)    Mercedes
2015  Lewis Hamilton (GB)    Mercedes
2016  Nico Rosberg (GER)    Mercedes
2017  Lewis Hamilton (GB)    Mercedes

For a complete statistical database on the World Driving Championship years, go to FORIX.

World Notes

1950: Original driver point system was top five drivers (8-6-4-3-2) and one point for fastest lap. 1950-1960: The Indianapolis 500 counts towards the World Driving Championship. 1952-1953: Alberto Ascari wins record nine consecutive Grands Prix. 1957: Fangio wins a then record fourth consecutive title and then record fifth overall. 1958: Constructors Cup begins. 1958: Mike Hawthorn wins title with only one victory while second place Stirling Moss has four and third place Tony Brooks has three. 1960: Top six drivers now score points (8-6-4-3-2-1), and point for fastest lap is discontinued. 1961: First place driver is now awarded nine points. 1964: Closest Constructors Cup -- Ferrari beats BRM by three points. 1970: Jochan Rindt is only posthumous champion. 1982: Only other time champion has just one win. 1984: Closest finish ever -- Niki Lauda beats Alain Prost by 1/2-point. (The championship has been decided by one point eight different times.) 1991: First place driver is now awarded ten points. 2002: Michael Schumacher finishes on podium in every single race, a total of 17. 2003: Point system changes to award the top eight finishers (10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1). 2004: Michael Schumacher wins record fifth consecutive title and record 7th overall, while winning season record 13 times. 2004: Ferrari wins record 6th consecutive constructors title. 2006: Michael Schumacher wins for a record 91st time. 2010: Point system changes to award the top ten finishers (25 - 18 - 15 - 12 - 10 - 8 - 6 - 4 - 2 - 1). 2010: Sebastian Vettel becomes youngest World Champion. 2013: Sebastian Vettel ties record winning nine consecutive Grands Prix.
Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2000-2018 by AutoRacingHistory.com. All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying Auto Racing History are proprietary marks of AutoRacingHistory.com and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. AutoRacingHistory.com is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy