Old 16 Photo Logo 3
Click to subscribe
to racinghistory

The Fairmount Park Motor Races Book
Order this book today
About Us
Book Reviews

Deep Throttle Button


Left: The Locomobile Type 1906, "Old 16", driven by George Robertson on its way to winning the 1908 Vanderbilt Cup on Long Island.

Center: Action during the 1916 Vanderbilt Cup event at Santa Monica with William Bolden (#12) leading Omar Toft.

Indy Lights Champions
Year Driver Team
1986  Fabrizio Barbazza  Arciero Racing
1987  Didier Theys  Truesports
1988  Jon Beekhuis  P.I.G. Racing
1989  Mike Groff  Leading Edge Motorsports
1990  Paul Tracy  Landford Racing
1991  Eric Bachelart  Landford Racing
1992  Robbie Buhl  Leading Edge Motorsports
1993  Bryan Herta  Tasman Motorsports
1994  Steve Robertson  Tasman Motorsports
1995  Greg Moore  Player's/Forsythe Racing
1996  David Empringham  Player's/Forsythe Racing
1997  Tony Kanaan  Tasman Motorsports
1998  Cristiano da Matta  Tasman Motorsports
1999  Oriol Servia  Dorricott Racing
2000  Scott Dixon  PacWest Racing
2001  Townsend Bell  Dorricott Racing
Lights Notes
1986-90: Called the American Racing Series (ARS). 1986-92: Series used Wildcat/March 85B chassis with a 4.2 liter, V-6 Buick engine. 1991: Series renamed Indy Lights. Firestone comes on board as the official tire supplier. 1993: Lola T92/20 chassis introduced as the spec car. 1995: Greg Moore wins record 10 races out of 12 events. 1996: Superspeedway debut at Michigan won by David Empringham. Empringham becomes only driver to win both the Toyota Atlantic championship ('93 and '94) and the Indy Lights title. 1997: Lola T97/20, the first chassis designed specifically for the Indy Lights series, is now used. 1998: Dayton becomes the official tire supplier. 2001: Series is cancelled by CART at conclusion of year.
Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2000-2018 by AutoRacingHistory.com. All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying Auto Racing History are proprietary marks of AutoRacingHistory.com and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. AutoRacingHistory.com is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy