Old 16 Photo Logo 3
Click to subscribe
to racinghistory

The Fairmount Park Motor Races Book
Order this book today
About Us
Book Reviews

Deep Throttle Button


Left: The Locomobile Type 1906, "Old 16", driven by George Robertson on its way to winning the 1908 Vanderbilt Cup on Long Island.

Center: Action during the 1916 Vanderbilt Cup event at Santa Monica with William Bolden (#12) leading Omar Toft.

Formula Atlantic Champions
Year Driver Chassis Wins
1974  Bill Brack  Lotus 59/69 4
1975  Bill Brack  Chevron B29 1
1976  Gilles Villeneuve (IMSA)  March 76B 4
 Gilles Villeneuve (CASC)  March 76B 5
1977  Gilles Villeneuve  March 76B 3
1978  Howdy Holmes  March 76B 2
1979  Tom Gloy  Ralt RT-1 1
1980  Jacques Villeneuve  March 80A 4
1981  Jacques Villeneuve  March 81A 4
1982  Dave McMillan  Ralt RT-4 1
1983  Michael Andretti  Ralt RT-4 3
1984  Dan Marvin  Ralt RT-4 5
1985  Jeff Wood (West)  Ralt RT-4 4
 Michael Angus (East)  Ralt RT-4 1
1986  Ted Prappas (West)  Ralt RT-4 4
 Scott Goodyear (East)  Ralt RT-4 5
1987  Johnny O'Connell (West)  Ralt RT-4 4
 Calvin Fish (East)  Ralt RT-4 3
1988  Dean Hall (West)  Swift DB-4 5
 Steve Shelton (East)  Swift DB-4 3
1989  Hiro Matsushita (West)  Swift DB-4 4
 Jocko Cunningham (East)  Swift DB-4 4
1990  Mark Dismore (West)  Swift DB-4 7
 Brian Till (East)  Swift DB-4 3
1991  Jovy Marcelo  Swift DB-4 2
1992  Chris Smith  Swift DB-4 3
1993  David Empringham  Ralt RT-41 1
1994  David Empringham  Ralt RT-41 2
1995  Richie Hearn  Ralt RT-41 3
1996  Patrick Carpentier  Ralt RT-41 9
1997  Alex Barron  Ralt RT-41 5
1998  Lee Bentham  Swift 008.a 2
1999  Anthony Lazzaro  Swift 008.a 4
2000  Buddy Rice  Swift 008.a 5
2001  Hoover Orsi  Swift 008.a 5
2002  Jon Fogarty  Swift 014.a 2
2003  A.J. Allmendinger  Swift 014.a 7
2004  Jon Fogarty  Swift 014.a 6
2005  Charles Zwolsman  Swift 014.a 3
2006  Simon Pagenaud  Swift 016.a 1
2007  Raphael Matos  Swift 016.a 6
2008  Markus Niemelä  Swift 016.a 2
2009  John Edwards  Swift 016.a 4
2012  David Grant  Swift 014.a 4
2014  Daniel Burkett  Swift 016 7
2015  Keith Grant  Swift 016 5
2016  Ryan Norman  Swift 016 8
2017  Peter Portante  Swift 016 8

Drivers' Records (through 2009)
 Wins Poles
 15  Mark Dismore 14  Gilles Villeneuve
 13  Gilles Villeneuve 14  Steve Shelton
 13  Claude Bourbonnais 12  Jimmy Vasser
 12   Patrick Carpentier 11  Jacques Villeneuve*
 11   David Empringham 11  Claude Bourbonnais
 10   Dan Marvin 11  Patrick Carpentier
 10   Jacques Villeneuve* 10  Jon Fogarty
* - Brother of Gilles Villeneuve
Non-championship wins/poles included in totals.

Manufacturers' Records (through 2009)
 Chassis Wins  
 227  Swift  
 159  Ralt  
 41  March  
 9  Lola  
 8  Chevron  
 8  Reynard  
 3  Lotus  
Non-championship wins included in totals.
Atlantic Archives
1976: Two series were run -- one in the US sanctioned by IMSA and one in Canada sanctioned by CASC. 1976: The most famous race took place at Trois-Rivières, consisting of imported Formula 1 drivers James Hunt (eventual World Champion that year), Alan Jones, Vittorio Brambilla, and Patrick Depailler. The race was won by regular Atlantic competitor, Gilles Villeneuve. 1976: Gilles Villeneuve wins nine races in ten starts. 1980-81: This is Gilles younger brother, not his son. 1984: After the FIA's attempt to globalize Formula Atlantic into Formula Mundial left the class in shambles, a Western sub-series, started the year before, was all that was left in the US, becaming by de-facto the premier Atlantic championship. 1985-90: An Eastern series began thus splitting the championship. 1988: First oval race was run at Milwaukee won by Jocko Cunningham. 1991: The series is unified into one national championship. 1996: Patrick Carpentier wins a record eight consecutive races, all from the pole, and record tying nine for the season. 2003: A.J. Allmendinger wins all of his seven races from the pole. Ties record for most poles (9) with Gilles Villeneuve. Jonathan Macri completes every lap. 2004: Jon Fogarty becomes the first driver to win more than one championships that were not consecutive. 2005: Katherine Legge becomes first woman to win an Atlantics race. 2012: After series folds after 2009, Formula Race Promotions starts new series sanctioned by SCCA. It folds after one year, but then is revived in 2014. 2017: Series is sanctioned by USAC.
Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2000-2018 by AutoRacingHistory.com. All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying Auto Racing History are proprietary marks of AutoRacingHistory.com and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. AutoRacingHistory.com is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy