Old 16 Photo Logo 3
Click to subscribe
to racinghistory

The Fairmount Park Motor Races Book
Order this book today
About Us
Book Reviews

Deep Throttle Button


Left: The Locomobile Type 1906, "Old 16", driven by George Robertson on its way to winning the 1908 Vanderbilt Cup on Long Island.

Center: Action during the 1916 Vanderbilt Cup event at Santa Monica with William Bolden (#12) leading Omar Toft.

Formula 3000 Champions
Year Driver Chassis Wins
1985  Christian Danner (GER)  March 85B 4
1986  Ivan Capelli (ITA)  March 86B 2
1987  Stefano Modena (ITA)  March 87B 3
1988  Roberto Moreno (BRA)  Reynard 88D 4
1989  Jean Alesi (FRA)  Reynard 89D 3
1990  Erik Comas (FRA)  Lola T90/50 4
1991  Christian Fittipaldi (BRA)  Reynard 91D 2
1992  Luca Badoer (ITA)  Reynard 92D 4
1993  Olivier Panis (FRA)  Reynard 93D 3
1994  Jean-Christophe Boullion (FRA)  Reynard 94D 3
1995  Vincenzo Sospiri (ITA)  Reynard 95D 3
1996  Jorg Muller (GER)  Lola T96/50 2
1997  Ricardo Zonta (BRA)  Lola T96/50 3
1998  Juan Pablo Montoya (COL)  Lola T96/50 4
1999  Nick Heidfeld (GER)  Lola B99/50 4
2000  Bruno Junqueira (BRA)  Lola B99/50 4
2001  Justin Wilson (GB)  Lola B99/50 3
2002  Sebastien Bourdais (FRA)  Lola B2/50 3
2003  Bjorn Wirdheim (SWE)  Lola B2/50 3
2004  Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA)  Lola B2/50 7

For a complete statistical database on the F3000 Championship years, go to FORIX F3000 Stats.
F3000 Factoids
1985: F3000 replaces F2 as the official feeder series to F1. Same point system as F1 is used (9-6-4-3-2-1). 1988: Multiple car pile-up at Brands Hatch leaves Johnny Herbert with severe damage to his legs. 1989: Closest finish ever -- Alesi ties Comas on points; wins tie-breaker of most wins (3-2). 1991: Future two-time CART champion Alex Zanardi finishes 2nd overall. First place driver is now awarded ten points to coincide with the F1 points system. 1993: Panis becomes only one of two (Alesi is the other) F3000 champions to win a Grand Prix. 1994: The points battle goes down to the final race between Boullion, Franck Lagorce, Gil de Ferran, and Vincenzo Sospiri. 1995: 19-year-old Marco Campos, a Brazilian rookie and reigning Formula Opel champion, is killed at the Magny-Cours finale. 1996: Kenny Brack wins the final race and championship on the track but is disqualified for causing an avoidable crash and falls to second place in points. First year a spec chassis and engine (Zytek XV) is used. 1997: First place driver is now awarded ten points. All races are now support events for F1. 1998: Montoya sets career records for most wins (7) and most poles (10). Montoya becomes only the third F3000 champion to win a Grand Prix. 1999: Heidfeld ties career record for most wins (7) and sets career mark for most fastest laps (9). Marco Apicello set career record for most races entered (54). 2000: Series is now restricted to 15 two car teams. 2002: Tomas Enge scores more points than Sebastien Bourdais, but Enge is stripped of first place points won at Hungary round for failing a drug test. 2003: Point system changes to award the top eight finishers (10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1) to coincide with the F1 points system. 2004: Vitantonio Liuzzi sets single season record for most wins (7) and most poles (9), and ties career record for most wins (7) and most poles (10). F3000 is discontinued at the end of the season to be replaced with the new GP2 championship.
Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 2000-2022 by AutoRacingHistory.com. All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying Auto Racing History are proprietary marks of AutoRacingHistory.com and Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. AutoRacingHistory.com is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any organization, corporation, or other entity. Privacy Policy